The Crow

Standard

The Crow sat at my window

And chastised me until I rose.

She flipped and flew ever higher,

Tipping her wings in a wave.

Dipping and cawing

And swallowing the air with her grace.

 

I leaned in closer to get my baring

Shielding my eyes from the sun.

Watching her carry on

Stretching and looping

Undeterred by time and space.

 

Eyes on the world, wings outstretched.

Spanning the gentle curve of loneliness

A branch, a prance, a pause.

Cosmic and unmoved.

A journey to gravity’s hard embrace.

 

Fallen and immobile beneath the oak.

Shotgun gust of feathered flight

Motionless amongst a bed of leaves

Cracked and varied

A haven of orange downy beneath her face.

 

Silent still the strangled world

Light trickling through the injured air.

Eerily abandoned beneath the oak

Fanning the dark reproduction

Of my own disgrace.

3 thoughts on “The Crow

    • Thank you!! Oh my goodness it’s been so long since I’ve talked to you! I’m not always sure my phone is reliable (sending and receiving messages) but I do truly want to set up coffee or dinner or something! I hope you’re doing well!

Leave a Reply

