Days 5,6,7: Nutty

Standard

Day 5: Came home after a long day at work and decided to tackle some dinner. I didn’t make any plans knowing I have a lot coming up in the next few weeks/ rest of summer and I was thinking it’s just tough to coordinate this food thing if I’m out a lot. So I enjoyed a leisurely (and slightly lame) Friday night which consisted of me making rice for the first time. I’ve only ever made minute rice so this was an eye opener. 45 MINUTES LATER… like seriously it takes that long? I was about ready to give up when I tasted and realized it was finally ready! It didn’t look that exciting so I was wondering who on earth would spend 45 minutes making this crap regularly when I tasted it and realized with some garlic, onion and roasted vegetables, it was really awesome! I guess the long wait tired me out because immediately after eating (and we’re talking like 8:30pm here) I passed out. I woke up the next morning with one hell of a mess to clean up.

Day 6: Went on a big long hike up the mountain brow even though I’m not supposed to be doing rigorous exercise. Whatever. It was rigorous and I felt awesome. I had only eaten some fruit and homemade granola prior to the hike so I felt a bit tired but my body was strong and at no point in the day did I feel hungry at all. Mostly I’m just thirsty. Sometimes I feel like it’s a stretch to consume as much water as I’m supposed to but not on this cleanse. Also had an exciting moment when I realized the salad at my favourite restaurant is made with all fresh unprocessed ingredients that I could have- dressing included! So Saturday hiking and dinner out, followed by a movie. I can do social things!

Day 7: Today was a lazy day and I think because I was just hanging around it was actually tougher. I wanted to eat junk food so I’m glad I’m on the cleanse because I think it could have been what I refer to as a “cheat day”.  The cleanse is still going strong (no cheats) but I decided to make the cookie recipe the Naturopath provided for me and it turned out pretty delicious. I would definitely do it again. Below is the recipe. Enjoy!

Nutty Cookies

-2 bananas, mashed

-1/3 cup coconut flour

-3/4 cup nut butter (I used tahina which is sesame seeds)

-1/2 tsp baking soda

-1/3 cup raw walnuts (I left these out because I hate walnuts)

-1 apple

-1/3 cup coconut milk

-1 tbsp cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350. Use a fork to mash bananas. Add coconut flour, nut butter, and baking soda and mix well. Cut apple into chunks and place it and walnuts in a food processor and process to fine dice. (I don’t like walnuts and didn’t have an apple so I skipped this). Add walnuts, apple, coconut milk, and cinnamon to the bowl and mix. Spoon onto baking sheets and bake for about 25 minutes. Made 24 cookies.

Leave a Reply

