Day 1: Green Tea is Not Coffee

Standard

Day 1:

I like to think coffee is the glue that holds me together in the morning. I drink it, I feel less violent towards those who address me before 10am, and no one is the wiser. This cleanse has stripped me of that security blanket so that all I’m left with is morning fuzz and irritation. I’m allowed to have green tea during the next ten days so I’m using it as a crutch. I drank three before noon today and let’s just talk about how green tea isn’t and will never be coffee. It doesn’t even have the decency to pretend. I realize there’s supposed to be caffeine in it but I’d like to know where and how much. I felt nothing.

When I got up this morning I was also in a rush because I slept in. I think this is one of those things you’re supposed to be really organized about, and since I wasn’t I ended up skipping breakfast. I was pretty hungry by lunch time so I headed over to (guess where) Goodness Me and bought myself a Quinoa salad. A positive on the cleanse front is the fact that it’s made me really stop and read labels. I’m now one of those annoying people blocking the aisle because they’re too busy staring intently at the tiny words on a box or can like they hold the secret to life. I spent half my lunch hour searching for words like ‘wheat’, or ‘dairy’ or ‘sugar’ or variations of that to make sure I stuck with the rules. Dr Fun would be so proud.

So quinoa salad for lunch and some trail mix in the afternoon. There’s this lovely ginger cinnamon blend I found that made life a tiny bit less bland in the middle of my afternoon. By the time I reached the end of the day I was hungry, super aggravated and pretty darn proud of myself. There is a candy jar that lives on my desk (It’s for everyone I swear) and I didn’t even look in its direction. I had salad for dinner with chickpeas and all kinds of other delicious things, and fruit and honey for dessert. I don’t even feel hungry. I’m totally exhausted and wondering how in the world I’m going to do 9 more but there’s definitely some change happening and I don’t know if it’s a mind thing but I feel a little cleaner and lighter- okay that’s probably the lack of sugar talking and the water weight loss but whatever.

In celebration of day 1 I share with you a recipe from Dr Fun:

Chickpea Slaw

-2 medium carrots, peeled and shredded

-1 small bunch of kale, shredded

-1 (540ml) can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed

-2 tbsp pumpkin seeds

-2 cups cabbage

-1/2 red spanish onion, finely diced

Mix the carrots, kale, cabbage, chickpeas and pumpkin seeds in a serving bowl and set aside.

Dressing:

-1 tsp dried dill

-1 tsp dried oregano

-1/2 tsp sea salt

-1/2 tsp pepper

-1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil

-juice of 1 lemon

Combine dill, oregano, salt, and pepper in a small bowl. Add oil and lemon and whisk all together until well blended. Pour over slaw and toss everything together.

One thought on “Day 1: Green Tea is Not Coffee

  1. Gerrie

    yum! Thanks for the recipe! I love Twinings cold brewed green tea with mint. You put it in a glass with cold water and ice and it becomes this delicious drink — ok, it is not coffee, but it is pretty good. I usually have it after my coffee!!

Leave a Reply

